RSS

Home On The Range

19 Sep

 

I think I am on a Yellowstone kick. I forgot how many lovely pictures I took my time there, and am just as excited today to go through them as I was when I first went through my camera.

I’m pretty darn positive this big guy was just waiting for me to take his picture. I could almost see the postcard frame around him and the Yellowstone National Park written in the corner.

I’m lucky to have gotten the snapshot before my near-death experience. You see, going up this side of Yellowstone there are little mountains, which means that you not only are going up and down nice gradient slopes but you also have a wall of hillside over your head to one side of the car and a drop off on the other. My friend was already being quite a tense driver for this reason, as she had never driven in the mountains. Me, being the tourist, am excited for the view and not worried at all about the drive. That’s when all-of-the-sudden-out-of-nowhere this HUGE bull moose comes bolting down the steep slope from above our car onto the road right in front of us. It saw us just as fast as we saw it; we slammed on our brakes just as he slammed on his. Luckily for us, he had enough momentum to carry him down the drop off on the other side and she had excellent reflexes in combination with good enough brakes to stop on a dime. Still, less than 12 inches away is far too close to be next to a giant moose. To add to our fear induced scream, neither of us were wearing seatbelts due to our extremely painful sunburn we acquired the first 12 hours of direct sunlight walking through the park. Let me tell you, we more than happily buckled up after we stopped screaming.

That wasn’t a story I called home to mom about, either. She got to see all the lovely Yellowstone pictures without having to worry about the disappearance of her daughter.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2012 in My Inspiration and Motivation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Home On The Range

  1. Christopher Snell

    December 16, 2012 at 08:31

    Not everyone gets to see a moose up-close and personal, the metaphysics of moose is “acknowledgement”. Most of us in MT embrace those encounters… nature up-close and personal. Glad to hear you survived it though, you do not want to collide with a moose at any speed.
    Blessings…

     
    • Nothing hurt

      January 3, 2013 at 19:45

      I was happy seeing them at the 75-100 meter range. 😉 And I am very lucky to have not gotten any closer than I did.

       

Leave a Reply

 
