RSS

Free Time & Death

07 Jun

20120607-173418.jpg

Oh goodness, this is from a long time ago already. When I used to have time, I would do self mini-photo shoots around the house to waste time. This is the product of one. (Obviously, or I likely wouldn’t be telling you this story right now.) I know retrospectively that I over bleached and over saturated it… However, I still am fascinated with the concept of the picture. If I remember right, I was inspired by the episode of America’s Next Top Model where they did beautiful dead pictures. Combine that with a recently ended relationship of over two years and some free time, and voila!

Plus it reminds me of that crumby old apartment with the gorgeous gold claw foot tub I picked out all by myself. Gosh, I sure do miss that place in all of its terrible glory.

P.S. I love that WordPress is suggesting I add a link to “free time.” I mean, I know it was something most people don’t have, but I didn’t realize it was something I needed to link a definition to. Thanks for the suggestion, mastermind behind the site.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in Photographic Memory

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Free Time & Death

  1. wangecikariuki

    June 8, 2012 at 04:28

    i really do love your work. i wish i could get to interact with you much more. you have a real inspiration of the way you write your work. why did you start this blog?

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 8, 2012 at 11:30

      I agree! We will just have to keep up on each other’s blogs, huh?
      And I started this blog because I would love to be a published author someday. Part of that process is figuring out if people actually wanted to hear what I had to say, and the best option I could think of was to start a blog. Now I’m here today!

       
  2. kloipy

    June 8, 2012 at 08:23

    beautiful picture. I like the bleached look to it. I like how it almost shades your face except for your eyes. Nice work

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 8, 2012 at 11:34

      Well thank you! I only like the bleached look because it hides the fact I have very little facial definition and a quite large nose, plus it does highlight my eyes which I don’t mind 😛 Overshare of information, but glad you liked it.

       
      • kloipy

        June 8, 2012 at 11:35

        Hey my profile pictures have to be taken with a wide lens so don’t feel bad

         
      • Nothing hurt

        June 9, 2012 at 18:25

        I feel that it is a “do what ever works” kind of a situation!

         
  3. den

    June 8, 2012 at 14:19

    Beautiful photograph. I love it and would love to see more of your work. 🙂

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 9, 2012 at 17:56

      Awww shucks, thanks sir! If you keep coming back, there is sure to be more.

       
  4. Jaimee

    June 9, 2012 at 07:07

    I think the picture looks really cool with the bleaching and saturating.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 9, 2012 at 18:01

      Thanks so much, Jaimee! I know it’s probably just me being hypercritical, so it’s nice to hear people like it the way it is.

       
  5. Cafe

    June 9, 2012 at 09:53

    Beautiful dead picture! Love it! 🙂

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 9, 2012 at 18:05

      Thank you, Janice! I’m always worried that people will think my stuff like this is weird and freak them out a little. I’m glad that isn’t the case (with this one anyway)!

       
      • Cafe

        June 10, 2012 at 16:29

        im sure ur readers love you and will like anything you post!

         
      • Nothing hurt

        June 11, 2012 at 16:17

        You are far too sweet.

         
  6. Photographs by Peter Knight

    June 11, 2012 at 11:42

    Agreed with Janice – especially the flowers but can’t find the peace lilly yet!!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 11, 2012 at 16:20

      Gosh, you are all just too nice! And my peace lily is looking pretty darn pathetic at this point (sad face!) so I’m hoping to beef her up with some good old miracle grow before she has a photo shoot. We wouldn’t want some sickly, stick thin version to be perceived as beautiful or anything. 🙂

       
      • Photographs by Peter Knight

        June 11, 2012 at 18:16

        Cleverly put!! 🙂

         
  7. The Weddington Adventures

    June 11, 2012 at 12:50

    all smiles ***** ;)))))

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 11, 2012 at 16:24

      Haha, thanks! I’m so glad you stopped by :)))))

       
  8. mountaincoward

    June 13, 2012 at 18:26

    That’s one great photograph! I wish I was so pretty too!

    I, unfortunately, have lots of free time at the moment as I fell and broke my wrist and am now off sick from work for 6 weeks… it’s been quite a shock to get free time and to have to constantly find things to do instead of cramming things in all the time.
    Carol

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 14, 2012 at 11:48

      Trust me, Carol, you definitely don’t have to be pretty to get a good photo! I would know. There is a quote somewhere from someone that says something like: If you take a thousand photos and get one good one, you have one good photo. I’ve taken several thousand of myself. But I am glad you liked this one (and its MANY photo edits).
      Enjoy the free time while you have it! I wish you a speedy recovery, you know, so you can get back to being too busy. 😉

       
  9. mountaincoward

    June 14, 2012 at 16:44

    Yeah, I know the getting back to being too busy all the time will come soon enough!

     

Leave a Reply

 
