RSS

Detail Oriented

11 May

I’m still working on this whole macro photography thing. I feel like I could quite possibly, maybe come to like doing these sorts of photos. I find each picture to be a reminder of the delicate intricacies that sustains life, or on the other hand, the intricacies that are left after life has disappeared. Or I suppose the details in life we miss being so busy with “bigger, better” things.

The top photo is a branch of a full grown, papa tree reaching out to greet oncommers and the wind. The second is looking directly down upon a little guy reaching towards the sky where his papa stands tall. Next follows natures carpet, fighting to keep the world warm against the blustery winds, clear frozen solid water, and dusty snowflakes.

The last two are examples of battles fought and lost. Proving to be tiny examples of the destruction of harvesting, the remnants stand tall despite being crushed. A story of growth and prosperity, jealousy and battles of a stronger force, and the consequences of war. A story of life. A story of history. A story of the future.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2012 in Photographic Memory

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Detail Oriented

  1. John Haslett

    May 11, 2012 at 19:13

    The best thing about macro photos for me is the natural patterns in all things. Mother nature creates all things whether large, small or macro. The swirls in the sand or the ribs of a leaf are just very cool.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      May 12, 2012 at 11:17

      Aren’t they? I’m continually amazed by the level of detail created in nature.

       
  2. Josy

    May 15, 2012 at 05:34

    Not sure whether the fourth one down counts as macro (one of the fun aspects of macro is that it’s easy to lose a sense of scale), but I like it! The wood chips seem like they go on FOREVER.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      May 15, 2012 at 07:40

      That’s very true, and I maybe should have made note of that. But I liked it so much I couldn’t pass on posting it!
      I’m glad you stopped by!

       
  3. prideinphotos

    May 15, 2012 at 11:19

    Thank you for visiting my blog! Your macro photos are very inspiring! I will be back soon.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      May 15, 2012 at 11:43

      I’m glad you enjoyed, missus, and thanks for stopping back here. I look forward to more delicious looking photos of yours!

       
  4. tutankhamon61

    May 18, 2012 at 05:02

    Nice photos. Greetings!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      May 23, 2012 at 11:25

      Hello! Thank you kindly. I’m working on improving, so hopefully the pictures will only get better!

       
  5. shawnganther

    May 23, 2012 at 02:42

    I like the fourth one. Good use of DOF, and it reminds me of how we like to kill everything…well, not doctors – they are the exception.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      May 23, 2012 at 11:34

      Thank you, sir. And I have to say, as a (very distant future) doctor, we are not exactly exempt from destruction, even if we are just trying very hard to make things better.

       

Leave a Reply

 
