RSS

Today is My Day

13 Apr

It is a big day today. Not only is it the day I am finally getting around to getting my taxes done, but it is also my birthday. The day to officially celebrate getting old.* I am going to give ya’ll a big surprise and share 24 facts about myself, since I just turned 24, that you would maybe not otherwise know about me. I do have to say that I stole this idea (Thanks, Malia!) because I thought it was such a neat idea. So here goes nothing.

*I’ll get back to this thought in a bit, so don’t forget about it!

1. I want to own horses, a few pigs, a few cows, and some chickens when I “grow up”.

2. Big-eyed, boy folk singers sing directly to me. I’m not sure if this one counts as a fact…

3. I don’t like pop. I don’t not like it because it is very unhealthy or has a tendency cause people to be overweight or even that it rots teeth. I just don’t like it.

4. I love wrinkles. I can’t wait to get old and have wrinkles. And I cannot figure out why society is so darn afraid of these lasting impressions of a wonderful life. *This is the reference to celebrating getting old. I wasn’t being sarcastic (for once)!

5. I know that if food is handmade with love, there are no calories included.

6. When I was growing up, I hoped to be six feet tall and have size 11 shoes. I only got one of those.

7. Top 5 favorite smells (5 because I can’t pick 1 as a favorite): The smell of fog, the smell of a match after its lit but before the smoke, the smell of clean cement/bricks on a humid day, vanilla, and either a campfire in the summer or a wood stove in the winter.

8. If I had to choose a career other than medicine, it would most likely be a degree in art.

9. I have a terrible habit of picking out flaws/cliches/wrong facts/dramatic over-acting in movies. I can’t help but get the giggles when they mess up something badly.

10. I have more fingernail polish colors than I would like to admit to. To be fair, I have never paid more than $2 for a bottle though.

11. I am very surprised at how many of you are following my blog. I didn’t exactly expect anyone to want to follow me. (Thanks everyone!)

12. My dream car is a 1969 Mustang Fastback in black. If anyone just so happens to have one laying around, it is my birthday you know.

13. I absolutely, positively cannot live without milk. On average, I drink 2 gallons a week. Yes, it is a problem. One delicious problem.

14. I don’t like eating in restaurants. My best guess as to why: I don’t particularly like eating. I don’t like to watch people eat. I don’t like people watching me eat. And I automatically assume that people don’t like watching me eat.

15. I have considered joining the military on several different occasions.

16. If I have one passionate cause outside of medicine it is in equality of everyone, especially homosexuals.

17. I know that people have too much faith in my future/success.

18. My mom used to make our favourite meals for our birthday. I usually chose her homemade hamburger stroganoff.

19. I cannot wait to buy my first house, my own space.

20. My future dog is a Great Dane. Love.

21. I can be quite terribly indecisive. In all actuality, if I don’t care about the end result/would be satisfied with any option, I would rather have someone who has a defined opinion answer.

22. My favourite movies are Wall-e, Lucky Number Slevin, and I Am Sam.

23. I believe in forgiveness but still have a conscience that tells me I have done wrong. And it scares me to think of all the bad I have done even if it has been forgiven. So I try my best to stay away from bad and wrong. But, I am human, and will be my whole life.

24! I still don’t have my passport. It is quite sad, since I hope to do my fair share of traveling when I have a spare moment in my life.

There you have it.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in My Inspiration and Motivation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Today is My Day

  1. johndwm

    April 13, 2012 at 18:30

    Real!!! Mr Wrinkles!

     
  2. johndwm

    April 13, 2012 at 18:31

    To be more precise. There are some things that simply are easy and enjoyable to read and have an honesty about them. Your stuff’s like that!!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      April 14, 2012 at 11:34

      Thank you for the compliments! I try my very best to be honest most of the time. I’m glad it shows through. 🙂

       
  3. John Haslett

    April 13, 2012 at 20:17

    People read your blog because they should hope to have a daughter who has her act together like you do. The charming thing is you don’t seem to realize just how together you are at such a young age. Look for a bright future eventhough you have size elevens.

     
    • Nothing hurt

      April 14, 2012 at 11:37

      Thank you kindly for such nice words! I definitely don’t feel as put together as you make me sound to be, though. My mom always jokes that my size 11s give me a good foundation in life!

       
  4. O J Proctor

    April 14, 2012 at 06:09

    Happy birthday – welcome to 24 years young! It’s a good age!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      April 14, 2012 at 11:41

      Thank you, sir! I am quite excited to see what this year brings me!!

      Plus I’m happy to have found your blog; your photos are always so inspiring. They are so simple and everyday yet so charming.

       
      • O J Proctor

        April 16, 2012 at 17:43

        Thanks very much, Miss! I’m enjoying your blogging too.
        I hope you have a great year!

         
  5. hannele

    April 14, 2012 at 13:20

    I absolutely agree about the wrinkles! 🙂 They add so much character to a face…

     
    • Nothing hurt

      April 16, 2012 at 11:06

      Don’t they?? I just wish more people agreed.

       

Leave a Reply

 
