RSS

I’m a Lover

14 Feb

“All you need is love.”

I don’t have anyone to be all sloshy-gooey about this Valentine’s Day, but I have something better. Well, if I’m going to be honest, even if I had myself a boy to be all lovey with, I wouldn’t throw it all over on here. Or anywhere really… This V-Day, I am going to share with you things that I love in my life. Starting with the Beatles, as the quote alludes to. They are just so perfect to listen to while studying.

My love, Dallas. He is kind of a crabby fellow, but nonetheless, I love him lots. 

This here is the driveway to home. It happens to be one of my favorite places to go now, even though at one point it was my favorite place to get away from.

These are my daily necklaces. The top is a “lucky penny” my mom stamped my name into. The second is a heart I found lying around, and decided it needed a permanent home. The third is a Norwegian Krone, you know, in order to honor my heritage. The last is my favorite: it is my adventure key. My grandma had a box of old keys, and I kifed it. (With her knowledge of course.) The old locks don’t have that many lock mechanisms, and I figure that some day it will lead me on an adventure. At this point, I know the key locks my bedroom door, my roommates bedroom door, our 2nd front door, and my hubby’s back door. Adventure, I’ll tell you.

The cup that sustains life. This is a cup that my mother’s business partner makes. It has two moose and one grizzly bear on it, and holds delicious teas, coffee, lattes, and even hot chocolate on the rare occasion. It sits by me all day, 5-7 days a week, keeping me hydrated and caffeinated.

My shoes! These are my favorite everyday shoes. They get me where I need to go. A secret? I keep a dime in my left watermelon shoe just in case I ever need a dime for some odd reason.

The last two pics are of my room. The top picture shows the official first piece of artwork I payed for. The artist is Julie Elick, and I have had the pleasure of meeting her. Underneath are clay hearts that I made and strung up: each stands for a member in my family. The second picture is part of my dresser. The candle holders are old irish cream bottles (thanks to my dad…), and the heart print I made for a project in a college course. I had to cut a print block that represented “courage.” This is the final product. The second  framed piece was a lovely note from my ex-roommate, and it just happened to go with the theme of my room, so I framed it. The Willow Tree figurine is from an ex-boyfriend, but it reminds me more of love than him.

I love love this. My grandma sent me this letter out of the blue not too long ago. Notice how she crossed out “birthday” and filled in “sailing?” Adorable. Then on top of that, she writes such a wonderfully positive note at the end.

There you have it. Those are just a few reasons why I’m in love with life. Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “I’m a Lover

  1. apoetsjournal

    February 14, 2012 at 23:18

    I love that you’ve shared a little piece of you on here. I love the story behind the necklaces. I have a Norwegian Krone on a chain too.The date on the coin is the year I graduated from bible college. The shoes are pretty cool. I love the colour green!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      February 15, 2012 at 22:07

      I’m glad you enjoyed! Krones are just so perfect for necklaces, aren’t they?

       
      • apoetsjournal

        February 15, 2012 at 22:09

        Yup they are. Norway is most definatley one of my favourite places. 😀

         
  2. The Oasis Projekt

    February 15, 2012 at 20:43

    Absolutely wonderful post…the way you share yourself and the wonderful simplicity of each thing you love was exactly what I needed today. Beautiful! And the dime in your shoe…your adventure key…LOVE it!

    http://tr4f.wordpress.com

     
    • Nothing hurt

      February 15, 2012 at 22:12

      Awww shucks, you are too kind! I do love the joy the simple things life brings around. Oh, and thanks for stopping by!

       
  3. Daniel Tri Handarkha

    February 16, 2012 at 01:46

    I love your simplicity post expressing your world to all outside you.. worthwhile thinking about what you said two days ago .. regars

     
    • Nothing hurt

      February 17, 2012 at 00:01

      Well thank you, mister! Sometimes its nice to be reminded that its the simple things in life that are the ones worth living for.

       

Leave a Reply

 
