RSS

My Heroes Have Always Killed Cowboys

10 Jan

My mind has just been blown. Well not really, but exponentially expanded. I am a product of a farming family in a predominately (98%) white community, I am about as rural American as they get. Or so I thought. Several schools, especially the one I currently attend, are focused on graduating rural and Native American populations.

Today in class, we were directed toward a website of a talented photographer, Aaron Huey, focusing on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. Sadly, I was only able to find two photos that I could post on here. Bummer! The one that struck me most was the one of graffiti stating, “my heroes have always killed cowboys,” which you can find on his website. I had always idolized John Wayne, and played cowboys and indians in the same context as cops and robbers. It had never been mentioned that there are heroes on the opposite team.

Whether or not you are interested in the individual, community, and social issues that undermine this population, you can surely fall in love with the photographs Mr. Huey captured there.

P.S. I double dog dare you to look into all the issues that the Pine Ridge Reservation. Plus I, Kristin, will personally mail you a gold star if you become active in your community to promote some changes for similar issues! No lies, you will get that gold star delivered to you by your lovely mailman/woman, from me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2012 in A Few of My Favorite Things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Heroes Have Always Killed Cowboys

  1. Jennifer Wilcox

    January 15, 2012 at 20:27

    I love the Native American photograph by Aaron Huey that you have posted in the above blog. The photograph of the Native American child depicts such debth and soul. Thank you for sharing.

    Jennifer Wilcox
    http://walnutcottage.wordpress.com/

     
    • Nothing hurt

      January 20, 2012 at 14:22

      Well thanks, missus! Glad you enjoyed 🙂

       
  2. Aaron Huey

    July 26, 2012 at 23:08

    Feel free to take screen shots of anything you need on my website to add to this or any other class work. (command+shift+4 on macs)
    and check out: http://www.ted.com/talks/aaron_huey.html and all the digital extras on this: http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2012/08/pine-ridge/fuller-text

    Thanks!
    Aaron Huey

     
    • Nothing hurt

      August 28, 2012 at 13:21

      Thank you kindly, sir! The video is both incredibly sad and inspiring. Thanks for sharing. I will pass this information on to my professor as well!
      Also, I am in shock that you were directed here, but definitely am glad you made it. I appreciate your time and the extra resources.

       

Leave a Reply

 
