RSS

Slay the Dragon

08 Nov

“Give me a sword, and I shall slay dragons,” said I. “I will take down the angry beasts with a swing of my sword. I am strong and swift, able and willing. I have a helmet; I have a shield. I have the heart, and have the garb. Now, my dear father, just give me a sword.”

Father replied with a steady, calm voice, “Valiant son, my only son, might you be strong and swift, able and willing. Might you have the garb, and you have shown you have the heart. Might I wish your mind change? Rather, might I hope the beast stays at bay?”

“Hope is no longer enough, Father.” That was my only retort. Silence whirled and twirled throughout the room. My hopes were high, my reasons fast. To myself I said, “Hold strong, and I shall slay dragons.”

The fire wisped and chattered to himself. Pounding in my chest, yet silent to the world, my heart continued its rhythmic sound. The moonlight brighter, the bread smell sweeter, and my hopes climbed higher.

“My blood, you have, young warrior. And my strength. Yet still, dragons are terrible beasts, with scales and fire. Their claws and teeth are sharper than nails. You know this, my valiant son, you know this well. Slaying dragons is a dangerous game. There are many a victim, and seldom a name.” Father was chilling, empty, and dark. Holding back tears, without a doubt, he wouldn’t cry. “I give you my sword, my knowledge square. I give you my heart, my blood, my name to carry. I wish upon you nimble feet, quick as your horse. Strength of armies, I wish upon you, so you make slay any dragon beast who fares in your way.”

“I am a warrior now,” my only thought, “I have my sword, and dragons I will slay.” I gathered my helmet, shield, and sword. I gathered my courage, my heart, my guard. When all was packed, with only my journey ahead of me, I turned in farewell. In a pile of grief and pain he sat. Never have I witnessed such a sight. “Dear Father, I will be back. Don’t worry of me, I can put up a fight.”

With that I was off with the speed of my horse. Off in the night, directly on course. The days and nights passed in a blur, until the day I reached it’s lair. “Today is the day, you fiend, you brute. Today is the day I shall take you down with the swing of my sword.”

I marched onward, with nothing to fear. With lots of ground past, I start to hear, the soft breaths of my dragon followed closely by fear. “I am strong and swift, able and willing. I have a helmet; I have a shield. I have the heart, and have the garb. My dear father, he gave me his sword. It is today, my first dragon I will slay”

The breaths grew louder. The air grew warmer. I crept onward, with arms shaking weakly. The air was heavy, thick and black. I planned my attack, and my heart grew strong. “Today is the day, you fiend, you brute. Today is the day I shall take you down with the swing of my sword.”

All of the sudden without a noise for the matter, the dragon appeared. There was no time, there was no game. The dragon, with terrible teeth and claws, covered in scales, and with its fire, defeated the child with little more than a stretch of a finger. The beast had won without even a fight. The beast had won without a need to perspire. The beast had won, my fair child, the beast had won.

“Dear Father, I will be back. Don’t worry of me, I can put up a fight. I will take down the angry beasts with a swing of my sword. I am strong and swift, able and willing. I have a helmet; I have a shield. I have the heart, and have the garb. And my own Father, you gave me your sword. I will slay dragons, as you gave me your sword, your heart, your blood.”

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
