RSS

Everything was beautiful, and nothing hurt.

12 Oct

“Everything was beautiful, and nothing hurt.” – Kurt Vonnegut

Today when searching for tattoo ideas, I remembered this quote and it seemed to compel me less toward tattoos and more toward evaluating my life. When have I ever taken chances? I thought endlessly only to find that I did not have any accomplishment that wasn’t a bit forcefully nudged by a friend, coworker, or mentor. Sure, I have done things with my life. But in all honesty, doesn’t everyone think they have lived to their fullest potential?

Of course, this thought went meandering off into a spiderweb of topics. I tried to justify myself by having been to Montana and skied in the mountains. Or standing where Martin Luther King, Jr. stood when he gave his infamous “I have a dream” speech. Possibly by somehow managing to get scientifically published (but this was more by accident and luck than anything). I have graduated from a decent private college, once again possibly by luck. I have eaten sushi, lutefisk, and several other concoctions people decide are on lists to try. Granted I have yet to cross off any major travels, swimming in the ocean, or skydiving, but I still feel quite unaccomplished for my age. Gosh, I make myself sound old with that statement. Let me rephrase. For being 22, I could definitely done far more with my life than I have.

Which, in a very round about way, leads me to why I am creating a blog. One of the things on my list is to write a book. At this point things are quite vague, no plans or topics have been chosen. I started thinking: “I should probably figure out if people actually want to hear what I have to say!” Whoa, what a concept. What if I spent years toiling over what I would call a masterpiece just to find out that no bloke would waste his/her time reading my piece of **** work? (I always do my best to censor myself. I figure it is easy to swear. It takes patience and restraint to refrain.) Anyways, then this eureka, blinding sunshine down from the sky moment happened right as the little thought bubble popped out of my ear saying “BLOG”. Being me, I did all I could to talk myself out of it, but at this point all possible cons became very lame sounding. And, well, here I am at my ex’s computer that he decided I needed to have, wants back, but cannot manage to find time to pick up. Lovely life.

If you managed to read this far, I will promise you this. This is only my first blog; they will get better. I want to create this conscious thought flow that corresponds with my emotions, my life, my trials, more than likely, my triumphs. I promise to be honest. (I may add a touch of sarcasm and exaggeration. Just saying.) What I hope to gain is critical feedback. What you, as my readers, want to see or read about, as well as what can be improved. You see, I am wanting to write this book…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in My Inspiration and Motivation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Everything was beautiful, and nothing hurt.

  1. Photographs by Peter Knight

    June 7, 2012 at 15:29

    Looking forward to the book! You have a lovely natural, almost innocent style of writing that I think makes a reader want to turn the page and keep on reading. That is the key I think – I feel compelled to keep looking through these archives and that is a good sign that you are interesting and funny! Its getting late here now but I’ll return to read some more. Good luck!!

     
    • Nothing hurt

      June 7, 2012 at 22:15

      I actually started a draft shortly before school started but somehow it has been pushed to the back burner. It makes me happy that you took the time to make it all the way to the beginning of the blog, and especially that you commented along the way. I will for sure have to bring out the draft this summer and keep plugging along! Thanks so much for the kind words and motivation.

       

Leave a Reply

 
